Sacred Ibis

The Sacred Ibis, also called the African Sacred Ibis has a wide range through sub Saharan Africa. It is also found in Iraq. It is easily distinguished by its all white body, bald head and thick curved bill and black legs. Males and females appear the same though males are larger. There are 3 subspecies.

They inhabit marshy wetlands and mud flats. Food consists of fish, frogs, small mammals and birds.

They nest in tree colonies which are shared with other bird species. The females lay 2 or 3 eggs in a stick nest.

Sacred Ibis @ Safari Niagara

  • Safari Niagara has one Sacred Ibis living on-site.

Scientific Classification

Species:T. aethiopicus

Did you know?

  • This bird has been introduced to France, Italy, Spain, Taiwan and Bahrain.
  • Their rapid population increases now pose a threat to local species.